Dear Gentle Reader, 

Finally, I harvested something today… garlic scapes!   Check out this cool bouquet! 

2010 Garlic Scape Harvest

 

An entire 1-pound and 1.25-ounces worth.   You probably already know that only hardneck garlic makes the scapes.  I planted two kinds last fall (I forget which ones).  I got them from Seeds of Change.   To get good hardneck garlic heads, you remove the scapes.  Otherwise, the garlic puts it energy into making a flower.  The flower makes baby garlic cloves that fall to the ground and grow to a new head (in two hears).   There is a lot of wild garlic all over the place here.  I have been told that this area used to grow a lot of the garlic for the US in the 1800’s.  I’m not sure if that is true or not.  Couldn’t find anything on the internet about it.  But it is everywhere.  So, I picked all of the scapes from the wild garlic on our yard, in addition to the scapes from the garlic that I planted. 

So, what the heck do you do with all of that?  A quick check of the web produced recipies for various dishes with scapes instead of garlic bulbs.  I could even make pickled scapes.  Apparently, the most tender part is the stem.  The flower part isn’t so great.  The most popular use is in pesto.  So, maybe I’ll make that tomorrow.  Also, I will chop up what I don’t use for pesto and put it in the freezer for later.  Maybe next year I’ll try out the pickles. 

What do you do with your scapes?

